British Commissioner: Lillian Somerville.

Selection Committee: Sir Philip Hendy, Alan Bowness, Roland Penrose, Sir Herbert Read, J M Richards, Sir John Rothenstein and John Acton. The British contribution comprised 15 paintings by Alan Davie, 10 sculptures and some drawings by Eduardo Paolozzi and charcoal drawings by Keith Vaughan. Catalogue published by The British Council. No ISBN.

Further reading:
Margaret Garlake, Britain and the Sâo Paulo Bienal 1951-1991, The British Council, London 1991 (ISBN 0 86355 199 X)

The works by Keith Vaughan returned to the UK at the end of the Biennial.